NOMINATION FOR BY ELECTION OF MEMBER TO THE ELKEM BOARD OF DIRECTORS

On 26 September 2019 Elkem ASA announced that Mr. Michael König will assume the position of CEO in the company effective as of 1 December 2019. Pursuant to the Norwegian Public Limited Liabilities Companies Act clause 6.1 (2) the board of directors has appointed Mr. Zhigang Hao as the new chairman of the board and Mr. Dag Jakob Opedal as the vice-chairman of the board, also effective as of 1 December 2019.

Further, it was also announced that the nomination committee would nominate the current CEO, Mr. Helge Aasen, as member of the board of directors. Mr. Aasen will leave his position as CEO on 1 December 2019.

In terms of the instruction regarding the nomination committee we refer to the information on the Elkem ASA's website dated 25 February 2019 and the nomination committee's recommendation to the 2019 Annual Meeting. In connection with the suggested by election the nomination committee have observed and complied with the instruction and the assessment criteria specified in the recommendation to the 2019 Annual Meeting.

1. AGENDA ITEM 4 - BY ELECTION OF MEMBER TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS

- (i) Mr. Helge Aasen, member of the Board of directors for a period of two (2) years effective as of 1 December 2019;
 - Mr Helge Aasen has held the position as CEO of Elkem ASA since 2009 and prior to taking on such position, he had various other positions in the company since 1990. His industry knowledge of Elkem is without parallel and will represent a further strengthening of such competence on the board.
- (ii) Subsequent to the by election under item (i) above as of 1 December 2019 the shareholder elected members of the board of directors in Elkem ASA will be as follows;
 - $\label{eq:mr.ham} \text{Mr. Hao Zhigang} \text{chairman of the board}$
 - Mr. Dag Jakob Opedal vice chairman of the board
 - Mr. Olivier Louis Gerard Tillette De Clermont -Tonnerre board member
 - Mrs. Caroline Gregoire Sainte Marie board member
 - Mr. Yougen Ge board member
 - Mr. Helge Aasen board member
 - Mrs. Anja Isabel Dotzenrath board member
 - Mrs. Marianne Elisabeth Johnsen board member

The committee's nomination is unanimous.

Oslo, 21 October 2019

Sverre S. Tysland Chairman

Anne Kjølseth Ekerholt

Olivier De-Clermont-Tonnerre